Fortuitous meeting

Last Saturday afternoon I met, quite by chance, a professional writer and screen-writer. We started chatting about the event that had brought us together in a rather long queue, she mentioned that she and her daughter were both writers, and I told her that I write as a hobby. She was charmingly interested in my work and when I told her that I’d been offered a publishing contract for my first book, she strongly advised me to find an agent. She also suggested that I join the Writers’ Guild, and gave me her website details so that I could find out more.

The author’s name is Corinne Sweet, and her delightful website can be found here.

As a result of that conversation, I dusted off my Writer’s Handbook on my return home and did a little more research. In the last few days I have narrowed down the list to three literary agents who accept unsolicited queries by email. This evening, I have sent my electronic query to all three, together with a synopsis of and extract from book one. In the coming week I will be approaching several other agencies by mail.

Fingers crossed!

About johannanield

Welsh author of a contemporary British romance trilogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fortuitous meeting

  1. Mardy says:

    Glad to hear that things are moving in the right direction for you.

    Like

What do you think?

