October blues

I’ve been feeling unwell recently, and that has stifled my creative muse to the point where I feel that I’m going round in circles with the ideas I’d had for the next novel in my series. It’s around this time of year that I start to worry about the winter blues, to which I am prone, and my lack of inspiration – combined with the ongoing health issues – has certainly made me feel a little down.

Contributing to the blue mood are three little anxieties related to my novel.

In June, I sent a copy of “New Beginnings” to the owner of a book review site, and was told that the reviewer would start reading the book in late August or early September; I’ve heard nothing (anxiety #1). In August, I sent a copy to another book review site; I’ve heard nothing (anxiety #2). I could contact them, but I’m aware that they’re probably busy reviewing other books (not to mention having a life beyond books!) and I don’t want to appear needy. It’s not that I’m desperate for their views, but it would be nice to know what’s happening, and what I might expect. I may send an enquiring email their way if I’ve heard nothing by the end of this month.

My other source of anxiety is what feels like an interminable wait for a reply from a firm of literary agents, to whom I sent a 50-page extract of “New Beginnings” early last month. Their website states that it can take around eight weeks for them to respond, so I have at least another three weeks to go. I’m so glad that I don’t bite my nails!

Because I don’t like to dwell on negativity, I’ll share some positive news …

  • I recently finished reading Audrey Niffenegger’s wonderful novel “Her Fearful Symmetry”. I enjoyed reading that book so much that I deliberately rationed myself to a few pages a day, simply to draw out the experience for as long as possible, because I didn’t want to finish it. I gasped when I reached the final page: I didn’t want it to end there. I sincerely hope that Ms Niffenegger will write a sequel. I’d also love to see the book made into a film, preferably with David Tennant in the role of Robert Fanshaw. If you haven’t already done so, I urge you to read this book: it’s a wonderfully intricate and beautiful story. To me, her writing style and storytelling skills are inspirational (despite my horror at her use of an irritating phrase) and I can’t recommend her work highly enough.

  • I’ve been getting some very positive feedback about my forthcoming book signing event, scheduled for 19 November. So many people have promised to attend that I’m beginning to have serious worries about how many copies of my book to take with me; on the one hand, I don’t want to run out of copies to sell on the day, but on the other hand I don’t want to take home a box full of unsold books! I’m seeking advice on several authors’ forum sites, and in the meantime I will welcome all suggestions on how to make the day a success.
About johannanield

Welsh author of a contemporary British romance trilogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

