The darling buds of May

“Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May, And summer’s lease hath all too short a date.”

(William Shakespeare: Sonnet 18)

 

It’s been a few weeks since my last blog entry. Work and family commitments have demanded my attention more than usual this month, leading me to put my creative outlets on the back burner. To counteract this, I’ve been taking more walks on the beach – a wonderful stress reliever, although it also keeps me away from my desk.

 

Image
May seems to be a month of change. Health and emotional issues are finally being addressed in constructive ways, both of which are having a positive affect on my stress levels. Work and family dynamics are also changing – mostly for the better – although I won’t have confirmation of the work situation for another few weeks.

There are changes afoot with regards to my original publisher, too: he’s handing ownership and management of his publishing company to his former partner, and setting up two new ventures. I have the option of staying with the original company, or moving to one of the new companies (the second is by invitation only). I have a little under a month to consider my options, during which time I hope that the many questions posed by my fellow authors will be answered. Given that my publishing contract is open, and the publishing vehicle was Amazon’s CreateSpace, I’m not tied in so I have more options than would normally be the case. I would, frankly, rather have a traditional contract through a literary agent, but “beggar’s can’t be choosers”, as they say. I shall wait and see how things unfold over the next few weeks before I make any decision.

Whilst I’ve been distracted away from my writing, I haven’t stopped reading.

ImageI recently read “The Horses” by Elaine Walker, and am now recommending it to everyone. I passed it on to my sister, who loved it too. Moved by the trailer for the film of the same name, I’ve just started to read “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close” by Jonathan Safran Foer. I fell in love with the narrative voice within a few paragraphs and although I’m barely a few pages in, I’m already thoroughly enjoying it.

I’ve also discovered some new blogs, which I thought I’d share here (in no particular order):

The Nicky Blog
I love the style of this blog, which provides a wide range of very interesting and entertaining articles, even though it hasn’t been updated for a short while.

To Become A Writer
Renee Pawlish blogs about writing, but also provides invaluable information, workshops and guidance for other writers. She reviews books, too, so there’s something for anyone who loves to read.

Novel Publicity
I’ve featured this wonderfully eclectic blog before, but this article – The Facebook timeline: 8 reasons why it’s your friend, not your enemy – will, I’m sure, be of interest to everyone who uses that particular social network.

Book Blogs
I joined Book Blogs last month. It’s for people who “read books, blog books, write books, and publicize books” and it sounded like heaven to the book-lover in me. Unfortunately I’ve been too busy to participate properly, but I hope that will change soon. If you’d like to check out my profile, you can find me here

WP Pinner
I must admit that I was attracted by the very pretty promotional video (near the bottom of the page) and I signed on for the beta stage of this new plug-in without reading much more about it. Unfortunately, the fab looking Pinterest plug-in will only be compatible with WordPress.org blogs, so I’ll either have to do without or jump ship. I’m watching developments in the meantime, and will wait for user reviews before making up my mind.

Marc and Angel Hack Life
This blog has nothing to do with writing or books – it’s a beautifully inspiring selection of “Practical Tips for Productive Living” which I love to read and share.

One Cool Site
This blog is for WordPress bloggers: it offers tips, tools and tutorials in a visually pleasing way.

Lisa’s Book Review
Does what it says on the tin. An elegantly simple blog, with very detailed and informative reviews of a huge range of romance novels.

 

Image

Now it’s your turn –

  • What have you been reading lately?
  • What blogs or sites would you recommend?
About johannanield

Welsh author of a contemporary British romance trilogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

