Tips for the reluctant self-promotor

Given my aversion to self-promotion, as I confessed last month, I’m encouraged and inspired by this article, written by Emily Harstone for Authors Publish Magazine:

3 Ways To Promote Yourself As A Writer (Even When You Don’t Want To)

“Writing is something you do alone. It’s a profession for introverts who want to tell you a story but don’t want to make eye contact while doing it.”  ― John Green

As an introvert, a writer, and a very reluctant self-promoter, this quote has always struck me as being particularly profound. Not just because of what it says, but because of who said it….

Read the full article at Authors Publish Magazine

There are some excellent ideas there, which I think even I can manage 😉

fountainpen

 

Original entry amended at the request of Authors Publish Magazine
About johannanield

Welsh author of a contemporary British romance trilogy
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tips for the reluctant self-promotor

  1. Jacob Jans says:

    Johanna Nield, we think it is great that you’re sharing our work. However, it is definitely NOT OK to copy it and republish it on your website. We are able to exist because of the ads that go with our content — by copying our work, you are threatening our ability to continue producing articles. We have a lot of expenses covered by the advertisements, including paying our writers.

    If you really do like our articles, please link to them, and don’t copy them. And yes, do remove the article text from your website, because you do not have permission to copy it.

    I hope this answers any questions you may have.

    Warmly,

    Jacob Jans
    Editor

    Like

    • johannanield says:

      Dear Jacob

      I’m sorry you were unable to contact me. I don’t know what other methods you tried, but your email was the only correspondence that reached me, and I replied within minutes.

      I’d like to point out that I’ve made very clear on my blog that the article is from your magazine, and I’ve included a link to it as the credited source. That said, I acknowledge your points about revenue and my failure to obtain your permission to copy the article.

      Please accept my apologies for any infringement, which was entirely unintentional.

      Best wishes
      Johanna Nield

      Like

What do you think?

