Dreams are the seeds of change

“Dreams are the seeds of change.
Nothing ever grows without a seed, and nothing ever changes without a dream.”
Debby Boone

Although I’ve maintained a moderate level of activity on Facebook and Instagram during the last few months, I haven’t updated my blog since September 2019.

The most exciting event in my writing life – publication of my novel New Beginnings in August last year – came at a time when my non-writing life had become a struggle.

Family worries, work challenges and my own health issues – on top of normal day-to-day commitments – had during the last year demanded all my energy and left me with less and less time for my creative outlets. My joy in and enthusiasm for writing fizzled out, as did the pleasure derived from my much-loved hobbies, even when I had time to indulge in them.

I didn’t exactly lose my mojo: I shrouded it in apathy and put it in a box, out of sight.

A few recent events have led me to dust off that box and peek inside. My mojo is still there, but it’s shy and hesitant and quivering with imposter syndrome.

‘What were the events?’ I suspect wonder if you’re wondering.

Firstly, a realisation – long overdue – that nothing will change unless I make some changes.

Simple. Obvious. Not quite! It took more than a year for that epiphanous light-bulb to blink in the darkness of my over-burdened mind, but blink it did and I’m committed to standing in its light.

Then, a week or so ago, I discovered a local writing group and joined their Thursday evening session, which was inspiring. I’m writing again after months of half-hearted attempts to pen something – anything – worthy of its ink.

Then, an opportunity presented itself to go to a Literary Festival that I’ve yearned to attend for as long as I’ve known of its existence. I’d no sooner booked my ticket this morning when a friend messaged me with the news that my favourite actor* will return to the stage later this year after three years of working in television and film. Another friend messaged me shortly afterwards, and she bought our tickets to the play (I was at work, unable to access the ticket site). These happy coincidences will be enough to empower my mojo right back to its place in the centre of my being.

So .. I’m back!

I’ve no idea what I’m going to do with this blog as I have yet to master the terrifying art of self-promotion, but I will do my best to post updates at least semi-regularly if anyone out there is interested in reading it.

And of course, I’m still on Facebook and Instagram 🙂

 

*David Tennant ♥ ♥ 
(but you knew that, right?)

About johannanield

Welsh author of a contemporary British romance trilogy
This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Dreams are the seeds of change

  1. Pingback: So much for that |

What do you think?